No opinions. No lap times. No PR. Welcome to 6th Gear. Your comments, criticism and suggestions: (replace # with @).
6th Gear is 8W's facts and stats section and gives you the F1 and motorsport information you won't find anywhere else on the Web.

1997 winners' circle


Revision date

[FIA F1] [FIA F3000] [FIA GT] [CART] [IRL] [F Nippon] [Indy Lights] [GB F3000] [MEX F3000]
[PSCR WSC/GT] [Sportscars] [J GT] [F GT] [GB GT] [NASCAR] [TransAm] [IROC]
[NATCC] [SudAm ST] [NZTCC] [Porsche Supercup] [Renault Spider] [Trophee Andros] [Touring Cars]
[GB F3] [D F3] [I F3] [F F3] [J F3] [SudAm F3] [MEX F3] [Int F3] [T Atlantic]
[F Opel] [F Renault] [Barber Dodge]

FIA Formula 1 World Championship (F1)

FIA International Formula 3000 Championship (F3000)

FIA International GT Championship (GT1/GT2)

PPG CART World Series (CART)

USAC Indy Racing League (IRL)

JAF Formula Nippon Championship (FNIPPON)

PPG Firestone Indy Lights Championship (INDY-L)

British Formula 3000 Championship (GBF3000)

Campeonato Formula 3000 de Mexico (MEXF3000)

PSCR Exxon World Sports Car Championship/PSCR GT Championship (PSCR WSC/GT)

Other important sports-prototype races (S-P)

JAF All-Nippon GT Championship (JGT)

Championnat Français Grand Tourisme (FGT)

BRDC British GT Championship (GBGT)

Other important GT races (INTGT)


SCCA Trans-Am Championship (TRANSAM)

International Race of Champions (IROC)

Auto Trader RAC British Touring Car Championship (TOCA Total Cup) (BTCC/BTCC-TC)

D1 ADAC Super-Tourenwagen Cup (DSTWC)

CSAI Campionato Italiano Superturismo (CIS)

Championnat Français Supertourisme (CFST)

Belgisch Procar-kampioenschap (BPROCAR)

Shell Australian Touring Car Championship (ATTC)

TOCA BOC Australian Super Touring Series (ASTS)

JAF All-Nippon Touring Car Championship (JTCC)

SCCA North American Touring Car Championship (NATCC)

Campeonato SudAm Superturismo (SUDAMST)

New Zealand Touring Car Championship (NZTCC)

Porsche Pirelli Supercup (PSC)

Renault Spider Eurocup (RSPIDER)

Trophee Andros (ANDROS)

Other important touring car races (TC)

Autosport British Formula 3 Championship (GBF3)

ONS Deutsche Formel 3 Meisterschaft (DF3)

Peroni ACI/CSAI Campionato Italiano Formula 3 (IF3)

Championnat Formule 3 Français (FF3)

JAF All-Nippon Formula 3 Championship (JF3)

SudAm Formula 3 (SUDAMF3)

Campeonato Formula 3 de Mexico (MEXF3)

Other important Formula 3 races (INTF3)

KOOL Toyota Atlantic Championship (T-ATL)

Formula Opel European Union Series (FO)

Formula Renault Sport Eurocup (FR)

Barber Dodge Pro Series (BD)

* Non-championship race

16 wins:

13 wins:

12 wins:

11 wins:

10 wins:

9 wins:

8 wins:

7 wins:

6 wins:

5 wins:

4 wins:

3 wins:

2 wins:

1 win: