Welcome to Who? What? Where? When? Why? on the World Wide Web. Your comments, criticism and suggestions: editors#8w.forix.com (replace # with @).
8W is forix.autosport.com's motorsport history section and covers the drivers, cars, circuits, eras and technology that shaped the face, sounds and smells of motor racing.

Featured stories

2024 Monaco Grand Prix Historique report
Sunny, straightforward and chaotic

Stuart Hall, McLaren M23, 2024 Monaco GP Historique

With two wins from two starts, Stuart Hall crowned himself the street prince of Monaco in the 2024 edition of the Monaco Grand Prix Historique, as the British pro driver bagged the spoils in the 1973-’76 and 1981-’85 F1 races while at the helm of the Rofgo Collection’s McLaren M23 and March 821. Besides Hall, Michael Lyons and Andy Middlehurst returned to their winning ways at Monaco, while Max Smith-Hilliard laid claim to being the true star of the meeting by rebounding from a fluffed start to claim an astonishing sportscar victory on the final lap.


1967 International F3 Temporada
Time to go south again!

After the good impression left by the 1966 International Temporada, it is not surprising that there was almost an outcry from the Argentine authorities and public for the event to be held again in 1967. In yet another logistics lesson demonstrated by the authorities in Buenos Aires, in just a few months the story of another Formula championship in the southern hemisphere began to take shape; one that would be marked by dramatic moments, like those that would happen in the second round of the season, at Mar del Plata.

But also, spectacular ones like the memorable displays the Matra squad would provide to the public. The 1967 Argentine Temporada demonstrated that even with the promptness of everyone involved some things always can go wrong, making it necessary to admit mistakes so that you can continue moving forward. The technological progress of motorsport was unstoppable, and race organisers needed to be aware of this in order to conciliate the safety of the circuits, the public's interest and the greater speed of the machines. Lorenzo Baer reports.

Jean-Pierre Beltoise, Temporada 1967


2024 Grand Prix de France Historique report
Celebrating a glorious French past

Nicolas Matile, March 771, 2024 Grand Prix de France Historique

Mike Cantillon (Williams FW07C) and Oliver Webb (Hesketh 308) became the first winners of the 2024 historic F1 season, as the Irishman and Briton each grabbed a victory at Paul Ricard, all under the watchful eye of a star-studded roll of honour that included Alain Prost, Gerhard Berger and Jean Alesi. In all, some 35,000 spectators gathered at an event that carried the same festive vibe as the Historic Grand Prix at Zandvoort.


Other recent stories on 8W


Latest updates on 6th Gear